Home‎ > ‎

2016 Essay Competition Winners announced

posted May 11, 2016, 1:03 PM by Admin austria.ie   [ updated May 20, 2016, 11:36 AM by Reinhard Schoeller ]
Click for Photo Gallery
(Click on image above for full album)

The Winners of the 2016 German Language Essay Competition were announced today at a ceremony hosted by the Austrian Ambassador Dr. Thomas Nader in Dublin. At the ceremony, the Dr. Nader thanked the Irish Austrian Society for organizing the competition and the schools, teachers and pupils for their participation. He also expressed his thanks to the Austrian Lecturers in Ireland for reviewing and assessing all essays. The President of the Irish Austrian Society, Guy Johnston, also thanked all participants and teachers for their participation and comittment to the german language, which they will find valuable in years to come.

The Winners: 

Andrew Roche, St Mary's Knockbeg College, Carlow
Winner of the St. Fergal Trophy
Teacher: Ms Louise Dillon-Reeves

Jessica Byrne, St. Leo's College, Carlow
2nd place
Teacher: Ms Ann Tully

Aoife Madden, St. Joseph's Secondary School Castlebar, Mayo
Winner of Paul Dubsky's Environment Trophy
Teacher: Ms Caroline Loftus

Alice O'Donnell, Midleton College, Cork
2nd Place
Teacher: Ms Melanie Henry

Weiran Bian, Midleton College, Cork
Winner of Dr. Otto Glaser Trophy
Teacher: Ms Melanie Henry

Mikolaj Glegolski, CBS High School Clonmel, Tipperary
2nd Place
Teacher: Ms Martina O'Reilly

Winner of Catriona Dowling Memorial Trophy for Best Teacher:
Ms Marion Cronin, Presentation Secondary School Tralee, Kerry

The Irish Austrian Society congratulates all participants and winners and thanks all schools for their participation in this year's competition.