Home‎ > ‎

2017 Essay Competition - Congratulations to all participants and Winners

posted May 17, 2017, 1:12 PM by Reinhard Schoeller   [ updated May 17, 2017, 1:12 PM ]

The 2017 German Language Essay Competition has concluded with a ceremony for the Winners hosted by new Austrian Ambassador Dr. Helmut Freudenschuss and his wife Sigrid at their Residence in Dublin. This was the 20th Anniversary competition and it has seen record participation with 200 essays submitted from 56 Schools across Ireland. In their speeches, Ambassador Dr. Freudenschuss and the President of the Society, Guy Johnston, have highlighted the significant and growing importance of the German Language in Europe.

The Winners:
Juniors Winner: Ellen O'Brien, Tullamore College, Tullamore. Winner St. Fergal Trophy & 2 week scholarship to Salzburg. Teacher: Aine Stack
Juniors 2nd Place: Denis Moskalenko, CBS High School Clonmel. Teacher: Martina O'Reilly
Transition year Winner: Brian Lacey, CBS High School, Clonmel. Winner Dubsky's Environment Trophy & 2 week scholarship to Salzburg. Teacher: Martina O'Reilly
Transition year 2nd Place: Niall GannonCBS High School, Clonmel. Teacher: Martina O'Reilly
Seniors Winner: Katy O'Connor, Bandon Grammer School, Bandon. Winner Dr. Otto Glaser Trophy & 2 week scholarship to Salzburg. Teacher: Alex Streuli
Seniors 2nd Place: Bartlomiej BaranSt. Mary’s College, Dundalk, Co. Louth. Teacher: Mr Flynn
Winner of Catriona Dowling Memorial Trophy for Best Teacher: Tracey Foley, Ard Scoil Ris Limerick

The Society wish to thank all participating Schools, Students and Teachers for the contribution and effort. And also the Ambassador Dr. Freudenschuss and his wife Sigrid for hosting the ceremony. For picture of the ceremony, please click on the picture above.