Home‎ > ‎

Announcement: Winners of 2020 Essay Language Competition

posted Oct 2, 2020, 12:15 PM by Reinhard Schoeller   [ updated Oct 2, 2020, 12:17 PM ]
When this competition was announced in December last year, no one anticipated the disruption ahead of us all. Here we are now in October of the following and we are so happy to finally end the wait and announce the winners. First, let me thank all teachers and students for their  tremendous patience. And of course, for their participation in the 2020 German Language Essay Competition. We never head so many participants!

The winners and runners up of the 2020 German Language Essay Competition are:


Alexa Odor

Samantha Kushan

Colaiste Phobal Roscrea. Co Tipperary

Colaiste Phobal Roscrea. Co Tipperary

Transition Year:

Callum Kelly

Conor Robinson

St. Patrick’s College, Cullies, Co Cavan

Sligo Gramma School, Co Sligo


Liadhan Murray

Esther Cowan

Tullamore College, Co Offaly

Wilson’s Hospital School, Multyfarnham, Co Westmeath

The winner of the Catriona Dowling perpetual trophy 2020 for best Teacher in the competition is Ms Laura Brogan from Loreto Secondary School Fermoy.

Congratulations to all winners, teachers and participants. 

The Austrian Ambassador and the Vice President of the Irish Austrian Society will together present the prize and the trophy to the winners at the their respective schools.

I also like to thank our sponsor, SONNENTOR, for their generous support of the 2020 German Language Essay Competition. Each participating student will receive a selection of samples.

Wir hoffen, dass Sie auch nächstes Jahr wieder so zahlreich mit ihren Schülern teilnehmen und wünschen Ihnen dafür viel Erfolg.

Ulrike Schoeller
Vice President