Home‎ > ‎

Essay Competition Winners 2019 announced

posted May 16, 2019, 1:02 PM by Reinhard Schoeller   [ updated May 16, 2019, 1:04 PM ]

Left to right: Ava Shortt, Sean Cooney, Sergiusz Wilkowski, Roisin O’Reilly, Damhan Mulligan, Ambassador Dr. Helmut Freudenschuss,
Gormfhlaith Ní Shíocháin Ní Bheoláin, President Guy Johnston

The Winners of the 2019 German Language Essay Competition were announced today at a ceremony hosted by the Austrian Ambassador Dr. Helmut Freudenschuss in Dublin. At the ceremony, the President of the Irish Austrian Society, Guy Johnston, expressed his thanks to the schools, teachers and pupils for their participation. He also expressed his thanks to the Austrian Lecturers in Ireland for reviewing and assessing all essays.

The Winners are:

Damhan Mulligan, St. Paul’s College, Raheny, Dublin 5
Winner of the St. Fergal Trophy
Teacher: Ms Margret Brady

Ava Shortt, Skerries Community College, Co Dublin
2nd place
Teacher: Ms Pamela Conway

Roisin O’Reilly, Loreto Secondary School, Wexford
Winner of Paul Dubsky's Environment Trophy
Teacher: Ms Patricia Kinsella

Sean Cooney, CBS High School, Clonmel, Co Tipperary
2nd Place
Teacher: Ms Martina O'Reilly

Gormfhlaith Ní Shíocháin Ní Bheoláin, Loreto Secondary Schoo, Fermoy, Co Cork
Winner of Dr. Otto Glaser Trophy
Teacher: Ms Laura Brogan

Sergiusz Wilkowski, CBS High School Clonmel, Tipperary
2nd Place
Teacher: Ms Martina O'Reilly

Winner of Catriona Dowling Memorial Trophy for Best Teacher:
Ms Lorraine O’Leary, Colaiste Ide agus Iosef Abbeyfeale, Co Limerick

The Irish Austrian Society congratulate all participants and winners and thank all schools for their participation in this year's competition.

Click on above picture for more photos from the ceremony