Home‎ > ‎

Winners of the 2021 German Language Essay Competition

posted Oct 10, 2021, 12:15 PM by Reinhard Schoeller   [ updated Oct 10, 2021, 12:22 PM ]

It was with great pleasure, that once again we were able to gather for a winners ceremony at the Residence of the Austrian Ambassador Dr. Thomas Nader in Dublin on 6 and 8 October. With 400 participants, this competition has seen the highest level of participation so far.

Over the two events, the winners of the 2021 German Language Essay Competition were announced:

 Juniors Winner Micheál McKeown, CBS Highschool Clonmel

  Runner up
 Sarah Sallai, St. Leo's College Carlow
 Tara Ralph, Wilson's Hospital School Mullingar

 Transition Year
 Winner Sophie Quinn, Mount Sackville Dublin 20
  Runner up
 Orianna Doyle, Loreto Clonmel
 Sophia Lucey, Loreto Fermoy

 Seniors Winner Adam Quinn, St. Vincent's Castleknock

  Runner up
 Laoise Maloney, St. Finian's College Mullingar
 Emma Galvin, Tullamore College

The winner of the Catriona Dowling perpetual trophy 2021 for best Teacher in the competition is Ms Sinead Mullins from Loreto Secondary School Clonmel. Runners up in the teacher category were Ms Aisling Barry from Loretto Fermoy and Ms Sarah McEvoy from Tullamore College.

Congratulations to all winners, teachers and participants.

The 2021 competition was generously supported by The Austrian Embassy in Dublin, Duncan Grehan & Partners, Ski Club of Ireland.  Photos of the ceremony are available here.

Ulrike Schoeller
Vice President