News Archive‎ > ‎

Essay Competition Winners 2015 announced

posted Apr 23, 2015, 2:37 PM by Reinhard Schoeller   [ updated Nov 16, 2015, 8:58 AM ]

The winners of the 2015 Irish Austrian Society German Language Essay Competition were announced today at a prize winners ceremony hosted by the Austrian Ambassador Dr. Thomas Nader. In the presence of the winners together with their friends, family and teachers, the category winners and runners up were awarded their prizes.

The winners are, from left to right:
Maria DunneMercy Secondary School, Galway. 2nd place Transition year. Teacher: Ruth Gilroy
Paul Crampton. Colaiste Phobal Ros Cre, Roscrea, Co Tipperary. 2nd place Seniors. Teacher: Eimear O'Meara
Oisin Thomas Morrin. St. Mary's Knockbeg College, Knockbeg, Co Carlow. 2nd place Juniors. Teacher: Louise Dillon-Reeves
Ailish Lalor. Loreto Secondary School, Kilkenny. Seniors. Winner of the Dr. Otto Glaser Trophy & 2 week scholarship to Salzburg. Teacher: Maria Murphy
Katherine AhernPresentation Secondary School, Tralee, Co Kerry. Transition year. Winner of the Dubsky Environment Trophy & 2 week scholarship to Salzburg. Teacher: Marion Cronin
Jessica Byrne. St. Leo's College, Carlow. Juniors. Winner of the St. Fergal Trophy. Teacher: Ann Tully

We congratulate all the winners and thank all participants, teachers and schools for their participation and support. We also thank our sponsors who's support enables us to send the winners on a 2 week scholarship to Salzburg. 

Please click on the picture above for more photos from the ceremony event.