Congrulations to the Winners of the 2023/34 Essay Language Competition


Winners of the German Language Essay Competition

Once again, the Irish Austrian Society were delighted to announce the winners of the annual German Language Essay competition. This time under the patronage of our designated new Austrian Ambassador Melitta Schubert.

The winners are:


Ronan Fox - CBS Highschool Clonmel. Teacher: Martina O'Reilly
Winner of the St. Feargal Trophy

Runner up:
2nd: Molly Beecher - Loreto St. Stephen's Green Dublin. Teacher: Jennifer Maverly
3rd: Eoin Flanagan - CBS High School Clonmel. Teacher: Martina O'Reilly


Felicity Murphy - Loreto Secondary School Fermoy. Teacher: Laura Brogan
Winner of the Dubsky's Environment Trophy

Runner up:
2nd: Hazel Conway - Loreto Secondary School Clonmel. Teacher: Sinead Mullins
3rd: Nicola Cooney - Loreto Secondary School Clonmel. Teacher: Sinead Mullins



Mark Tynan - Cistercian College Roscrea. Teacher: Niamh O'Rourke
Winner of the Dr. Otto Glaser Trophy

Runner up:
2nd: Paudie Ryan - CBS High School Clonmel. Teacher: Martina O'Reilly
3rd: Aoife McGuckin - Midleton College Cork. Teacher: Melanie Henry


Dylan Mason - CBS Kilkenny
Winner of the Catriona Dowling Trophy

Runner up:
2nd: Melanie Henry - Midleton College Cork
3rd: Niamh O'Rourke - Cistercian College Roscrea

The winners were announced and prizes awarded at a reception at the Residence of the Austrian Ambassador. In his speech, Dr. Declan Downey, President of the Irish Austrian Society, praised the achievement of the students and encouraged them to proceed on their path of achievement. He also thanked all teachers and parents for their support. 

The Irish Austrian Society also thank their sponsors of the competition, namely the Austrian Embassy, Duncan Grehan & Partners Solicitors, the Ski Club of Ireland and Austrian Company SONNENTOR as well as

We also wish to thank all students, teachers, principals and parents for their tremendous support over the years and this year in particular. All participating students will receive a certificate of achievement as well as token of appreciation from SONNENTOR.

To the Photo Album